JOMC 272.001

Advertising Media

Fall 2015

The media-planning function in advertising for both buyers and sellers of media; the relationships among media, messages, and audiences; computer analysis.

Syllabus

This course meets 1:25-2:40 p.m. on Mondays and Wednesdays in Carroll 143.

Course Format

This is a course in which you should not only understand the subject matter, but you should be able to apply it in a variety of situations. From the beginning, the material builds on itself to form a comprehensive body of media planning/buying knowledge. Therefore, the course will be taught using a problem-solving approach.


This approach works as follows for any given class meeting:


Readings and/or homework are assigned before each class meeting. It is your responsibility to not only read but to study and understand the reading assignments prior to the next class meeting. In class, I will assume that you have read the assigned material and are ready to discuss, question, expand on and apply the material.

Most class sessions begin by discussing the homework assignment for the day.


There may be a quiz based on the homework.


A specific topic from the readings is introduced. This introduction may be a very brief summary or an extended lecture depending on the particular topic.


In-class exercises and/or quizzes are used to help you understand how to apply the material.


NOTE: This course requires extensive time and effort outside of the classroom. On average, you should plan on at least 10 hours per week

Tentative Schedule

Week 1

.

Wednesday, August 19


Introduction to the course.

Week 2

Monday, August 24


Before class, please read

Chapter 1: The Wild, Wild West

Chapter 2: Welcome to the Future

Chapter 3: The Business of Media

Chapter 4: The Revolution


SampleData.xls for in-class exercise.


Homework_01_data.xls for Homework assignment (see Sakai) due Wednesday.

Wednesday, August 26


Before class, please read Chapter 5: Media Math


In class today: Zombie Media Math

data


Homework_02_data.xlsx for Homework assignment (see Sakai) due Monday.

Week 3

Monday, August 31


Before class, please read Chapter 6: Audience Concepts


Set up a free MRI+ account (using your unc.edu email account) and use it to complete various assignments.


How to Read an Internet Reporter Report.


Homework_03.xlsx data for Homework assignment (see Sakai) due Wednesday.


Ratings, etc. deck

Wednesday, September 2


Before class, please read Chapter 7: Media Costs


MRI Practice


Homework assignment (see Sakai) is due Wednesday, September 9.

Week 4

Monday, September 7


Labor Day Holiday

Wednesday, September 9


Before class, please read Chapter 8: Media Impact


MRI


Intra-media Effectiveness

Week 5

Monday, September 14


Exam Review


Virtual Exam Review

Wednesday, September 16


EXAM I

Week 6

Monday, September 21


Before class, please

Read Chapter 9: Media in Marketing


Adweek's Media Plan of the Year Winner

v1 v2


Skim Chapter 19: Building a Strategic Media Plan

Wednesday, September 23


Before class, please read Chapter 10: How Do Media Work?


Be prepared to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of each media model presented in the chapter.

Week 7

Monday, September 28


Before class, please read Chapter 11: Target Audience


Facebook Custom Audiences

AdAge on Custom Audiences

Twitter's Tailored Audiences

New Competition from Google

Competition from Publishers


WUZZITS Homework | Data

Wednesday, September 30


Before class, please read Chapter 12: Geographic Problems & Opportunities


WUZZITS TA: Adults | Men | Heavy


Geography Exercise Data


SimplyMap

Week 8

Monday, October 5


Before class, please read Chapter 13: Timing & Scheduling


Timing/Scheduling Exercise Data

Wednesday, October 7


Before class, please read Chapter 14: A Budget to Grow By


Budget Exercise Data


All Teams: Please read rules and submit intent to compete by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, October 9.


Collegiate Echo Official Rules (pdf)

Intent to Compete

Week 9

Monday, October 12


Before class, please read

Chapter 15: The Tools of IMC

Chapter 16: Traditional Media

Wednesday, October 14


Before class, please read Chapter 17: Internet Marketing


Special Online Session

Week 10

Monday, October 19


Before class, please read Chapter 18: Social Media


Group Project (ECHO) Resource Page

Wednesday, October 21


Before class, please read Chapter 19: Building a Strategic Media Plan


Frost

Week 11

Monday, October 26


EXAM II

Wednesday, October 28


Before class, please read

Chapter 20: Media Negotiations

Chapter 21: Broadcast Media Buying


Nielsen Top 10 TV | Raleigh-Durham_Fayet DMA | Radio Ratings


Network TV Comparision

Week 12

Monday, November 2


Before class, please read Chapter 22: Buying Print Media


N&O Advertising Rates | Wired Media Kit


Print Media Quiz due by 11:59 PM Tuesday, November 3

Wednesday, November 4


Before class, please read Chapter 23: Buying Internet Advertising

Week 13

Monday, November 9


Before class, please read Chapter 24: Guerrilla Media Buying


Programmatic

Wednesday, November 11


Before class, please read Chapter 25: Media Sales


In-class sales exercise

Week 14

Monday, November 16


Before class, please read Chapter 26: The Future


Remember Minority Report?


Forrester's Predictions


Efficient Targeting at Scale


VR / 360: NYT Gatorade

Wednesday, November 18


Group Project Work Day


Data for Spot Buying Quiz

(Quiz is on Sakai - Due by 11:59 p.m. tonight.)

Week 15

Monday, November 23


Group Project Work Day


Rate Card for Newspaper Buying Quiz

(Quiz is on Sakai - Due by 11:59 p.m. tonight.)

Wednesday, November 25


No Class Meeting - THANKSGIVING RECESS

Week 16

Monday, November 30


Group Project


Note: Project deliverables due by 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, December 1.

Wednesday, December 2


Course Wrap-Up

Final Exam: Monday, December 7, 12:00-2:00 p.m.

ACEJMC core values & competences

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) requires that, irrespective of their particular specialization, all graduates should be aware of certain core values and competencies. Learn more about them here: http://www2.ku.edu/~acejmc/PROGRAM/PRINCIPLES.SHTML#vals&comps.

This course focuses on the following core values and competencies:


Thinking critically, creatively and independently;


Conducting research and evaluating information by methods appropriate to the communications professions in which they work;


Writing correctly and clearly in forms and styles appropriate for the communications professions, audiences and purposes they serve;


Critically evaluating their own work and that of others for accuracy and fairness, clarity, appropriate style and grammatical correctness;


Applying basic numerical and statistical concepts;


Applying tools and technologies appropriate for the communications professions in which they work.